About Protect

We have a responsibility to safeguard the benefits of the scheme for all members
and participating employers


Board - Protect: Severance and Income Protection benefits

Protect is governed by a legally enforceable Trust Deed. The Protect Board of Directors is nominated by the ETU Victorian Branch and the National Electrical and Communications Association, Victorian Chapter.

The Protect Board meets regularly to review operations, consider specialist advice provided by investment, legal and audit professionals and to oversight a responsible and balanced.

The Protect Board is committed to pursuing a wide range of initiatives to improve the benefits and operation of the scheme for both workers and participating employers.

Protect Board Directors

Michael Anderson
Protect Board Chair

Michael Anderson was appointed as an Independent Director to the Board of Protect in September 2010, and Board Chair in 2016.

Michael’s background is in finance and investment management and he has held Chief Executive and senior executive positions at National Australia Bank, Victorian Funds Management Corporation and Transport Accident Commission among others.

Currently he advises a number of organizations on investment related matters. Michael holds a Bachelor of Business (Distinction) degree from RMIT and is a member of the CPA Australia.

Sue Carter
Independent Director

Sue was appointed to the Board of Protect in February 2016.
Rod Dalglish
ETU Representative

Rod is currently the General Manager Business Services for the Electrical Trade Union (ETU) and was appointed to the Board of Protect in 2015.
Danny Filazzola
ETU Representative

Danny was appointed to the Board of Protect in October 2017.

Danny is currently the Branch President of the ETU - Victorian Branch and Board Member and Joint Chair of Future Energy Skills Ltd.

Previously, Danny held the positions of Training Officer and Organiser at the ETU.

Dean Mighell
ETU Representative

Dean Mighell was an A Grade electrician, ETU Shop Steward and OHS Representative when he became a full-time ETU organiser in September 1988.

Dean was elected State Secretary of the ETU Victorian Branch in 1995. He is a passionate campaigner for workers' entitlements and lead the charge to create an independent and strong severance scheme in 1998, leading to the ultimate formation of Protect. Dean pioneered the establishment of Australia's best income protection and personal injury and illness insurance for electrical workers; administered by Protect.

He is a former President of the Victorian Trades Hall Council and is currently National President of the Communications Electrical Plumbing Union, Electrical Division.

Peter Smith
NECA Representative

Peter has had forty years experience in the Building and Construction Specialist Subcontracting Industry in the areas of electrical and fire protection services. His experience has ranged from construction site to General management roles, he has had responsibility for a business with sales in excess of $140 million and 400 staff. Peter is a Director of CBus and Protect.
Mike Purnell
NECA Representative

Mike was appointed as a Director of Protect in July 2015. Mike is an experienced general Manager in the electrical contracting industry, with 13 years as General Manager of Nilsen (Vic). Mike is also an experienced Board Director in commercial and not-for-profit environments as well as experienced General manager, Regional CFO and Corporate advisor.
Michael Connolly

Appointed in April 2017, Michael has extensive experience in the worker entitlements industry, having previously been Company Secretary and Manager Corporate Strategy of CoINVEST Ltd for over a decade.

His experience covers corporate governance, strategy and information technology including leadership of several major projects.

Michael has previously held a management role in the finance team of an international manufacturer and has also worked in the investment industry.